fbpx

Reviews

The Frederick Coin Exchange IconThe Frederick Coin Exchange

20 North East Street, Frederick

4.9 178 reviews

  • Avatar Bill Herz ★★★★★ 2 weeks ago
    Love this place - could geek out in there for quite awhile if there wasn't a pandemic - sigh... Highly knowledgeable staff, fair pricing, I would recommend these guys to anyone in the DC area. In particular if you've been disillusioned … More with other coin shops, try them.
  • Avatar Jacqui Ottey ★★★★★ 3 weeks ago
    The first trip to the Frederick Coin Exchange was a very professional & great experience. I was selling my father’s coins and got a more than fair price. Ian was a joy to work with. He took time to carefully evaluate my coins and … More explained the reason for their value. Made a second appointment already.
  • Avatar J. States ☆☆☆☆ 2 months ago
    Unfortunately, I have to give the Frederick Coin Exchange a 1-star review for a recent transaction. I will say that I have always been happy selling COINS and JEWELRY to the exchange itself.
    In early March of 2020, I took a stamp collection
    … More of my late grandfather's, which I was selling on behalf of my grandmother, in to the Frederick Coin Exchange to be appraised by their resident expert, Roger. I left my address, email, and phone number, and then heard nothing from them. I called once a couple months ago and was told that due to COVID-19, Roger was a bit behind. No problem.
    Today when I called, I was told that they had tried to reach me several times and that the stamp collection had been donated to the Boy Scouts due to a low valuation. I looked at the appraisal form which I had signed, and sure enough, this WAS part of the terms and conditions. However, I also noticed that someone had incorrectly written my phone number down on this form (I assume Roger, who filled the form out) so obviously any attempt to reach me would have failed. I'm a bit disappointed, since the box with the collection itself had my address, email, and cell phone number clearly attached on a 3x5 card taped to the box itself.
    I wish someone had taken the time to send me an email before donating my grandmother's stamps to charity, especially if they did indeed make several attempts to reach me after a valuation was made. While the collection may not have been valuable, my aunts, who organized it with my late grandfather, might have appreciated having some of the stamps as mementos. At least the stamps went to a good cause (Boy Scouts), but the whole transaction leaves a bitter taste in my mouth.
  • Avatar Richard Barnes ★★★★★ a month ago
    This was my second experience with this vendor & it was just as professional & mutually beneficial as the first. That is now two consecutive 5-star interactions I have had with this exemplary outfit. Keep up the great work!!!! … More
  • Avatar Michele Bastaldo ★★★☆☆ 2 weeks ago
    I visited the Frederick Coin Exchange on Saturday. The service was average at least to me. The gentleman who waited on me did not seem to be enthusiastic about serving me. There was a gentleman there who seemed nice and quite enthusiastic, … More but he didn't wait on me. I have no reason to return to this facility. I will go back to the Gaithersburg exchange since they were quite helpful and seemed to be enthused about serving me.
  • Avatar Susan Swain ★★★★★ 2 months ago
    For more than a decade, the Frederick Coin Exchange has been my go-to place when selling coins and precious metals. I have always found them to be well knowledgable and fair in pricing. Robbie is awesome! He takes the time to educate customers … More and you can tell that he loves what he does.
  • Avatar Todd West ★★★★★ 5 months ago
    I met with Josh who was super helpful, detailed, and accurate. He provided printed quotes for each of my coins, in groups, and then offered top dollar for their gold and silver melt value. The spot price of gold he quoted me was also accurate, … More and up to the minute, I cross- checked it on my phone. They have a beautiful store, lots of space and very open, and I felt safe even with a mask as is required right now. A great experience and completely honest dealing. I would happily visit again!
  • Avatar Jason Rhoads ★★★★★ a month ago
    I have sold and bought coins. Have never been dissatisfied. Staff are always willing to answer all my questions. Looking forward to doing more buying in the near future.
  • Avatar Alexia Hasbrouck ★★★★★ a month ago
    Staff is professional, knowledgable and friendly. After shopping around, I found they offered me the best pricing on my gold and silver items. I would recommend this shop to anyone. The best part was the verbal appraisal was FREE! I would … More leave 6 stars if I could. Thank you, FCE!
  • Avatar Richard Fanta ★★★★★ a month ago
    The dealer I used in the past retired so I looked for a new dealer. I took my gold jewelry to 4 different places. Ian at this store gave me super service, answered all my questions and gave me the best prices. At 2 other places, I might … More have been ripped off. I will only use them in the future, a place one can trust!
  • Avatar Josh Trumpower ★★★★★ 5 months ago
    This was one of the most pleasant experiences I've ever had in a retail setting. Everyone was pleasant and professional yet laid back and humorous. I shopped my coins around at a few places before selling and by far the frederick coin … More exchange gave me the best price. They went through every piece as a team and I had close to 100k coins and put value on everything. They hit my price on the mark! If every experience I had in a retail setting was like this one the world would definitely be a better place !
  • Avatar Gordon Cameron ★★★★★ 3 months ago
    My first time in today. Josh was fantastic to work with! Every other employee I met was courteous and professional. The store was very busy however they managed to keep people separated and maintain covid protocols. Despite being so busy … More I at no point ever felt rushed, even though we had tonnage of Wheaties and Buffaloes to slog through. Plus I felt like I got a fair deal. Josh paused when he found a key date explaining why something was worth more (or less), saying what they would retail it for and what they would buy it for. Looking forward to future appointments and help with curating a collection.
  • Avatar J. Koepp ★★★★★ 5 months ago
    I have dealt with Frederick Coin Exchange for a couple years now and have always received strong offers. I highly recommend them.
  • A Google User ★★★★★ 5 months ago
    I’ve personally been doing business with Frederick Coin Exchange for the last ten years and can say with confidence I have received nothing but top notch service and leading market pricing for my coins and bullion. A true rare coin dealer … More with the knowledge to buy your coins and the checkbook to back it up. Buy or sell with confidence at Fredrick Coin Exchange.
  • Avatar James Gutmann ★★★★★ 5 months ago
    Good management of appointment and keeping social distancing. Very efficient assessment, explanation, and closing the deal. Very professional.
  • Avatar Wesley Mull ★★★★★ 5 months ago
    I’ve personally been doing business with Frederick Coin Exchange for the last ten years and can say with confidence I have received nothing but top notch service and leading market pricing for my coins and bullion. A true rare coin dealer … More with the knowledge to buy your coins and the checkbook to back it up. Buy or sell with confidence at Fredrick Coin Exchange.
  • Avatar Brew Holmes ★★★★★ 10 months ago
    Management went above and beyond! They’re knowledgeable, helpful, and they have a wide selection of unique articles. We were able to purchase a diamond engagement/wedding ring for a fraction of the cost of a new one. We’re satisfied … More customers who will return time and time again for all of our jewelry and coin needs!
  • Avatar JAMES BLUE ★★★★★ 10 months ago
    Stopped in couple weeks ago to sell some coins after a friend suggested I go see them. Have to say I was Pleasantly Surprised with my visit. I set down with Robbie and as he examined my coins, he discussed what they look for and told some … More fun facts about the coins I had. In the end, I received what I believe was a very fair price and would definitely recommend checking them out. I will certainly be back.
  • Avatar John Heffelfinger ★★★★★ 10 months ago
    I visited the Frederick Coin Exchange on 1/24/20 to sell a large quantity of coins from a relative’s estate. The entire sales experience was very positive. In advance of my visit, I had spoken over the phone with Josh, who handled my … More sale. Josh was very knowledgeable and provided excellent customer service. He was very transparent about their pricing, which I considered fair (as well as higher than a nearby coin shop). I followed the pictorial guide on their website with recommendations for identifying and sorting my coins. This not only saved time in the store, it allowed me to obtain their best prices. Robbie, the store manager was also very knowledgeable about other coins and currency I brought in for evaluation. I highly recommend Frederick Coin Exchange, and will definitely return in the future.
  • Avatar Karen L ★★★★★ 11 months ago
    Robbie was so helpful, knowledgeable and honest. He explained that I'd get a better price if I sold my costume jewelry at a yard sale and gave me an idea of where to sell my silver plated items. Of the items he did buy, I got a good … More price. The next time I have things to sell, this is where I'm going!
  • Avatar William Broglie ★★★★★ 10 months ago
    We had never used the services of the Frederick Coin Exchange but had relied on the good reviews. We were not disappointed: professional and personable help and service. We did not feel rushed or pressured. We would definitely use their … More services again and would recommend the Frederick Coin Exchange to others without hesitation.
  • Avatar Alan Rosencrance ★★★★★ 11 months ago
    This was the first time I was ever at Frederick Coin Exchange and I found it to be educational and interesting. Traded coins and proof sets from my father's estate for silver dollars. I thought it was going to take hours but the … More whole process was completed in 30 to 40 minutes. I believe I got a fair deal cleared a lot of space in my gun safe. Thanks Coin Exchange!

Call Now
Find Us